Ich habe genug

Ich habe genug, “I have enough”, is the title of a Bach cantata for Candlemass. It is one of the most beloved cantatas by Bach, and one of three solo cantatas he wrote for the bass voice.  The other two are Der Friede sei mit dir, “Peace be with you” and Ich will den Kreuzstab gerne tragen, “I will the crosier gladly carry”. The three cantatas were most likely performed for the first time in Leipzig between 1726 and 1728, and it is thus not unlikely that all three were performed for the first time by the same singer. Who this singer was, however, we do not know.

In this program we perform all three cantatas accompanied by a small baroque ensemble in a intimate exploration of some of the most beautiful music written for the bass voice by the fifth evangelist, Johann Sebastian Bach.

I have now enough,
I have now my Savior, the hope of the faithful
Within my desiring embrace now enfolded;
I have now enough!

Slumber now, ye eyes so weary,
Fall in soft and calm repose!


Staffan Liljas – bass
Ann Wallström – concert master, baroque violin soloist
Lina Söderholtz – baroque violin
Andrea Ravandoni – baroque viola
Mime Brinkmann – baroque cello
Olof Larsson – double bass
Johan Hansson Lindström – organ
Kerstin Frödin – baroque oboe soloist